Our Team

Allies for Substance Abuse Prevention is made up of an executive board, 20 coalition members and two substance abuse prevention groups led by nearly 50 youth.

Executive Board

Julie Larson, Chairperson
Julie is a nurse practitioner at the Britt Medical Clinic. She represents the health sector
Betty Mallen, Co-Chairperson
Betty is the Health Coach at Hancock County Health Systems. She represents the parent sector.
Dan Peterson, Treasurer
Dan is the Principal at the West Hancock High School. He represents the education sector.
Kelly Grunhovd, Secretary
Kelly is the Prevention Director at Prairie Ridge. She represents our government with prevention expertise sector.

ASAP’s general coalition members represent the 12 following community sectors. We invite you to contact us to support ASAP.

  • Youth 18 or younger
  • Parents
  • Businesses
  • Media
  • Schools
  • Youth-Serving Organizations
  • Law Enforcement
  • Religious or Fraternal Organizations
  • Civic or Volunteer Groups
  • Healthcare Professionals
  • State, Local or Tribal government agencies with experience in substance abuse
  • Other organizations involved in reducing substance abuse

ASAP’s Subcommittee leaders help ensure our organization remains active, focused and effective. Please contact us to learn more about how you could support ASAP.

Communication: Lois DeLeon, Linda Hesly, Victoria Schmidt
Environmental Strategies: Scott Dodd, Kelly Grunhovd
Evaluation:Kelly Grunhovd, Julie Larson, Betty Mallen, Dan Peterson
Executive Sustainability: Kelly Grunhovd, Matt Kraus, Julie Larson, Betty Mallen, Dan Peterson